V

vls

VideoLAN Server (abandoned and deprecated)

README for vls, the VideoLAN Server

Introduction
============

The vls is part of the VideoLAN project, a full MPEG2 client/server
solution. The VideoLAN Server aims at broadcasting MPEG (1/2, PS/TS)
video streams over any IP network.


Building, Installing and Running VideoLAN
=========================================

See the INSTALL file to know how to build the documentation and then
read it.


Troubleshooting
===============

A mailing-list has been set up for support and discussion about the
vls and all the streaming problems. Its address is :

  <streaming@videolan.org>

To subscribe, send a mail to <listar@videolan.org> with the following
words in the mail body :

  subscribe streaming

To unsubscribe, do the same with the words :

  unsubscribe streaming


A mailing-list has been set up for development stuff about vls. Its
address is :

  <vls-devel@videolan.org>


To subscribe, send a mail to <listar@videolan.org> with the following
words in the mail body :

  subscribe vls-devel

To unsubscribe, do the same with the words :

  unsubscribe vls-devel


When reporting bugs, try to be as precise as possible (which OS, which
distribution, and so on).


Resources
=========

The VideoLAN web site at http://www.videolan.org/ is a good start for
information about MPEG and DVD playing. Have a look at the documentation
section, as well as the bookmarks.


The team
========

See the AUTHORS file for a list of the vls authors and contributors.

The following teachers were involved in the VideoLAN project :

  Pierre Lecoy, teacher-cum-researcher at ECP,
  Philippe Boutin, head of the LMI (MicroComputing Laboratory).

The following students were members of the VideoLAN team :

1996-1997:
  Pierre Almeras <almeras@via.ecp.fr>
  Christophe Arnaud <christophe.arnaud@tps.fr>
  Antoine Brenner <brenner@via.ecp.fr>
  Régis Duchesne <regis@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexandre Francois <francois@via.ecp.fr>
  Christian Gross <gross@via.ecp.fr>
  Hugo Haas <hugo@via.ecp.fr>
  Mikael Journo <mj32@cornell.edu>
  Michel Lespinasse <walken@zoy.org>
  Christophe Ulses <mowgli@laotseu.via.ecp.fr>
  Pierre Vandecasteele <pabv2@hermes.cam.ac.uk>
  Guillaume Vergnaud <vergnaud@via.ecp.fr>

1997-1998:
  Olivier Baxa <oli@via.ecp.fr>
  Patrice Bazerque <patrice.bazerque@via.ecp.fr>
  Arnaud Bienvenu <arnaud.bienvenu@via.ecp.fr>
  Régis Clément <clement@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexandre Duret <alex@via.ecp.fr>
  Eric Estievenart <eric@via.ecp.fr>
  Sébastien Kurz <seb@tao.via.ecp.fr>
  Olivier Pomel <pomel@via.ecp.fr>

1998-1999:
  Pierre Baillet <octplane@via.ecp.fr>
  Alban Fonrouge <alban@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Philippe Grimaldi <jeanphi@via.ecp.fr>
  Andres Krapf <dae@via.ecp.fr>
  Christophe Massiot <massiot@via.ecp.fr>
  Mathieu Poumeyrol <kaliban@via.ecp.fr>
  Etienne Roy <etienne@via.ecp.fr>
  Vincent Seguin <seguin@via.ecp.fr>
  Benoit Steiner <benny@via.ecp.fr>

1999-2000:
  Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Marc Dressler <polux@via.ecp.fr>
  Gaël Hendryckx <jimmy@via.ecp.fr>
  Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
  Brieuc Jeunhomme <bbp@via.ecp.fr>
  Michel Kaempf <maxx@via.ecp.fr>
  Florent Rougon <flo@via.ecp.fr>

2000-2001:
  Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
  Stéphane Borel <stef@via.ecp.fr>
  Renaud Dartus <reno@via.ecp.fr>
  Henri Fallon <henri@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Michel Grimaldi <jm@via.ecp.fr>
  Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
  Damien Lucas <nitrox@via.ecp.fr>
  Rémi Peyronnet <remi@via.ecp.fr>
  Laurent Rossier <gunther@via.ecp.fr>


2001-2002:
  Marc Ariberti <marcari@via.ecp.fr>
  Johan Bilien <jobi@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexis De Lattre <alexis@via.ecp.fr>
  Cyril Deguet <asmax@via.ecp.fr>
  Boris Dorès <babal@via.ecp.fr>
  Tristan Leteurtre <tooney@via.ecp.fr>
  Jérôme Schoumann <jerome@videolan.org>
  Olivier Teulière <ipkiss@videolan.org>