VideoLAN Server (abandoned and deprecated)

Name Last Update
autotools Loading commit data...
build_test Loading commit data...
debian Loading commit data...
doc Loading commit data...
interface Loading commit data...
src Loading commit data...
test Loading commit data...
.dmallocrc Loading commit data...
AUTHORS Loading commit data...
COPYING Loading commit data...
ChangeLog Loading commit data...
Makefile.am Loading commit data...
NEWS Loading commit data...
README Loading commit data...
README.win32 Loading commit data...
TODO Loading commit data...
bootstrap Loading commit data...
configure.ac Loading commit data...
todo.pl Loading commit data...
vls.cfg Loading commit data...
vls.sln Loading commit data...
vls.spec Loading commit data...
vls.vcproj Loading commit data...
README for vls, the VideoLAN Server


The vls is part of the VideoLAN project, a full MPEG2 client/server
solution. The VideoLAN Server aims at broadcasting MPEG (1/2, PS/TS)
video streams over any IP network.

Building, Installing and Running VideoLAN

See the INSTALL file to know how to build the documentation and then
read it.


A mailing-list has been set up for support and discussion about the
vls and all the streaming problems. Its address is :


To subscribe, send a mail to <listar@videolan.org> with the following
words in the mail body :

  subscribe streaming

To unsubscribe, do the same with the words :

  unsubscribe streaming

A mailing-list has been set up for development stuff about vls. Its
address is :


To subscribe, send a mail to <listar@videolan.org> with the following
words in the mail body :

  subscribe vls-devel

To unsubscribe, do the same with the words :

  unsubscribe vls-devel

When reporting bugs, try to be as precise as possible (which OS, which
distribution, and so on).


The VideoLAN web site at http://www.videolan.org/ is a good start for
information about MPEG and DVD playing. Have a look at the documentation
section, as well as the bookmarks.

The team

See the AUTHORS file for a list of the vls authors and contributors.

The following teachers were involved in the VideoLAN project :

  Pierre Lecoy, teacher-cum-researcher at ECP,
  Philippe Boutin, head of the LMI (MicroComputing Laboratory).

The following students were members of the VideoLAN team :

  Pierre Almeras <almeras@via.ecp.fr>
  Christophe Arnaud <christophe.arnaud@tps.fr>
  Antoine Brenner <brenner@via.ecp.fr>
  Régis Duchesne <regis@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexandre Francois <francois@via.ecp.fr>
  Christian Gross <gross@via.ecp.fr>
  Hugo Haas <hugo@via.ecp.fr>
  Mikael Journo <mj32@cornell.edu>
  Michel Lespinasse <walken@zoy.org>
  Christophe Ulses <mowgli@laotseu.via.ecp.fr>
  Pierre Vandecasteele <pabv2@hermes.cam.ac.uk>
  Guillaume Vergnaud <vergnaud@via.ecp.fr>

  Olivier Baxa <oli@via.ecp.fr>
  Patrice Bazerque <patrice.bazerque@via.ecp.fr>
  Arnaud Bienvenu <arnaud.bienvenu@via.ecp.fr>
  Régis Clément <clement@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexandre Duret <alex@via.ecp.fr>
  Eric Estievenart <eric@via.ecp.fr>
  Sébastien Kurz <seb@tao.via.ecp.fr>
  Olivier Pomel <pomel@via.ecp.fr>

  Pierre Baillet <octplane@via.ecp.fr>
  Alban Fonrouge <alban@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Philippe Grimaldi <jeanphi@via.ecp.fr>
  Andres Krapf <dae@via.ecp.fr>
  Christophe Massiot <massiot@via.ecp.fr>
  Mathieu Poumeyrol <kaliban@via.ecp.fr>
  Etienne Roy <etienne@via.ecp.fr>
  Vincent Seguin <seguin@via.ecp.fr>
  Benoit Steiner <benny@via.ecp.fr>

  Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Marc Dressler <polux@via.ecp.fr>
  Gaël Hendryckx <jimmy@via.ecp.fr>
  Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
  Brieuc Jeunhomme <bbp@via.ecp.fr>
  Michel Kaempf <maxx@via.ecp.fr>
  Florent Rougon <flo@via.ecp.fr>

  Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
  Stéphane Borel <stef@via.ecp.fr>
  Renaud Dartus <reno@via.ecp.fr>
  Henri Fallon <henri@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Michel Grimaldi <jm@via.ecp.fr>
  Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
  Damien Lucas <nitrox@via.ecp.fr>
  Rémi Peyronnet <remi@via.ecp.fr>
  Laurent Rossier <gunther@via.ecp.fr>

  Marc Ariberti <marcari@via.ecp.fr>
  Johan Bilien <jobi@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexis De Lattre <alexis@via.ecp.fr>
  Cyril Deguet <asmax@via.ecp.fr>
  Boris Dorès <babal@via.ecp.fr>
  Tristan Leteurtre <tooney@via.ecp.fr>
  Jérôme Schoumann <jerome@videolan.org>
  Olivier Teulière <ipkiss@videolan.org>