README 3.28 KB
Newer Older
1
README for vlc, the VideoLAN Client
2 3


4 5
Introduction
============
6

7 8 9
The vlc is part of the VideoLAN project, a full MPEG2 client/server
solution. The VideoLAN Client can also be used as a standalone program
to play MPEG2 streams from a hard disk or a DVD.
10 11


12 13
Building, Installing and Running VideoLAN
=========================================
14

15
See the INSTALL file for this.
16

17

18 19
Troubleshooting
===============
20

21 22
Please check the file FAQ before doing any bug report.

23 24
A mailing-list has been set up for support and discussion about the
vlc. Its address is :
25

26
   <vlc@videolan.org>
27

28 29
To subscribe, send a mail to <listar@videolan.org> with the following
words in the mail body :
30

31
   subscribe vlc
32

33
To unsubscribe, do the same with the words :
34

35
   unsubscribe vlc
36 37


38 39
When reporting bugs, try to be as precise as possible (which OS, which
distribution, what plugins you were trying, and so on).
40 41


42 43
Resources
=========
44

45 46 47 48 49
The VideoLAN web site at http://www.videolan.org/ is a good start for
information about MPEG and DVD playing. Have a look at the documentation
section, as well as the bookmarks.

You can also try the OpenDVD site at http://www.opendvd.org/ or the
50
the LiViD project at http://www.linuxvideo.org/. They have lots of
51
information, too.
52 53


54 55
The team
========
56

57 58
See the AUTHORS file for a list of the vlc authors and contributors.

59 60 61 62 63 64 65
The following teachers were involved in the VideoLAN project :

  Pierre Lecoy, teacher-cum-researcher at ECP,
  Philippe Boutin, head of the LMI (MicroComputing Laboratory).

The following students were members of the VideoLAN team :

66
1996-1997:
67 68 69 70 71
  Pierre Almeras <almeras@via.ecp.fr>
  Christophe Arnaud <christophe.arnaud@tps.fr>
  Antoine Brenner <brenner@via.ecp.fr>
  Rgis Duchesne <regis@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexandre Francois <francois@via.ecp.fr>
72
  Christian Gross <gross@via.ecp.fr>
73 74
  Hugo Haas <hugo@via.ecp.fr>
  Mikael Journo <mj32@cornell.edu>
75
  Michel Lespinasse <walken@zoy.org>
76 77 78 79
  Christophe Ulses <mowgli@laotseu.via.ecp.fr>
  Pierre Vandecasteele <pabv2@hermes.cam.ac.uk>
  Guillaume Vergnaud <vergnaud@via.ecp.fr>

80
1997-1998:
81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89
  Olivier Baxa <oli@via.ecp.fr>
  Patrice Bazerque <patrice.bazerque@via.ecp.fr>
  Arnaud Bienvenu <arnaud.bienvenu@via.ecp.fr>
  Rgis Clment <clement@via.ecp.fr>
  Alexandre Duret <alex@via.ecp.fr>
  Eric Estievenart <eric@via.ecp.fr>
  Sbastien Kurz <seb@tao.via.ecp.fr>
  Olivier Pomel <pomel@via.ecp.fr>

90
1998-1999:
91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100
  Pierre Baillet <octplane@via.ecp.fr>
  Alban Fonrouge <alban@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Philippe Grimaldi <jeanphi@via.ecp.fr>
  Andres Krapf <dae@via.ecp.fr>
  Christophe Massiot <massiot@via.ecp.fr>
  Mathieu Poumeyrol <kaliban@via.ecp.fr>
  Etienne Roy <etienne@via.ecp.fr>
  Vincent Seguin <seguin@via.ecp.fr>
  Benoit Steiner <benny@via.ecp.fr>

101
1999-2000:
102 103 104
  Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Marc Dressler <polux@via.ecp.fr>
  Gal Hendryckx <jimmy@via.ecp.fr>
105
  Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
106 107 108 109
  Brieuc Jeunhomme <bbp@via.ecp.fr>
  Michel Kaempf <maxx@via.ecp.fr>
  Florent Rougon <flo@via.ecp.fr>

110 111
2000-2001:
  Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
112 113 114 115
  Stphane Borel <stef@via.ecp.fr>
  Renaud Dartus <reno@via.ecp.fr>
  Henri Fallon <henri@via.ecp.fr>
  Jean-Michel Grimaldi <jm@via.ecp.fr>
116
  Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
117 118 119 120
  Damien Lucas <nitrox@via.ecp.fr>
  Rmi Peyronnet <remi@via.ecp.fr>
  Laurent Rossier <gunther@via.ecp.fr>